Live the Promise
TwitterFacebookYouTubeGoogle MapsEmailRSS

Tomorrow: Honoring Courageous Leaders

Celebrating Arizona’s Agents of Change
Past, Present & Future

Tomorrow, Tuesday June 7th 2011
5:30PM Reception, 6:00PM Program

Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: Olney Room  Gallery
100 W. Roosevelt St. at Central Ave.
Phoenix, Arizona 85003


Join us tomorrow as we celebrate the following courageous leaders who helped pave the road to justice.

Carolinan ‘Curly’ Rosales de Hernandez

Curly devoted her life to advancing social change in Arizona, and we mourn her passage last July. She fought side-by-side with Cesar Chavez to establish the United Farm Workers in Arizona, helped build Chicanos Por La devoted 22 years of service to the Head Start program at Catholic Charities. She is sorely missed

Monsignor Antonio Sotelo

Msgr. Sotelo is a long-time advocate for the rights of immigrants and the poor and served as a vicar for Spanish-speaking Catholics for the Phoenix Catholic Diocese. Before retiring in 1999, he spent three years as pastor of St. Catherine of Siena Parish and 14 years as pastor of Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish. He still offers weekly masses and works daily in prison ministry offering sacraments and spiritual counseling.

Dr. Warren Stewart Sr.

Dr. Stewart is the Senior Pastor of the First Institutional Baptist Church of Phoenix. He is a true solider for justice and equality, having led the fight for Arizona’s recognition of Dr. Martin Luther King’s birthday as a paid state holiday. Dr. Stewart is a champion for the rights of all people, including immigrants, in our state. He is a founding board member of Promise Arizona.

Neighborhood Ministries

Neighborhood Ministries is a 30-year-old faith-based organization committed to seeing God’s justice in our community and lifting up the voices of those who are silenced. They offer pre-school classes, a health clinic, college scholarships, and youth leadership development. Neighborhood Ministries is the first institutional member of Promise Arizona and was a leader in our 2010 “Faith, Hope, Vote” voter drive.

Host Committee

Olga Aros
Jan and Ed Booth
Joya Kizer Clarke
Petra Falcon
Jerri Pastor, Chair
Hilda Ortega Rosales
Ray Rosales
Billy Shields
Guadalupe Sosa Valencia